Blog

  • Taking a Pushchair on the Glasgow Subway: Fold It First, and Which Stations Have Lifts or Escalators (Scotland)

    The Glasgow Subway is a compact underground circle, and its stations were not designed around wheeled pushchairs. Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT), which runs it, publishes specific guidance for prams and pushchairs and a station-by-station description of stairs, escalators and lifts. This guide sets out what those pages say, for travel on the Subway in Scotland. Other Scottish and UK networks have different rules.

    The rule: fold the pushchair

    SPT’s Subway page states that prams and pushchairs should be folded in the Subway. It explains that because of space restrictions, it is not possible to accommodate large prams and pushchairs, and that staff may ask customers to fold prams or pushchairs if they are too big or the system is busy. The practical consequence is that a large travel system or a heavy all-terrain model is a poor fit, and the fold should be one the parent can manage with one hand while holding a child.

    The guidance is short and does not give dimensions or a weight limit. The wording is that pushchairs "should" be folded and that staff can ask, so the decision on the day rests with Subway staff. The site’s guide to pushchair weight and portability covers what makes a pushchair easy to carry.

    How the Subway is laid out

    According to SPT, the Subway runs a circuit of fifteen stations, with trains every four minutes at peak times, and takes 24 minutes to complete a circuit. It is open from 06:30 to 23:40 Monday to Saturday and from 10:00 to 18:12 on Sundays, as shown on its page. Those operating details can change and should be checked on SPT’s timetable page before travelling.

    Which stations have lifts

    SPT’s accessibility page describes each station. Two have lifts:

    • Govan: escalators to platform level and lifts to assist those with mobility issues.
    • St Enoch: stairs and an escalator at the north end, a lift to the concourse at the south end, and lifts on the lower levels down to the platform.

    For a parent with a pushchair that will not fold small, these are the stations SPT identifies as having lifts. Every other station, according to the page, relies on stairs, escalators or both.

    Stations with escalators

    SPT lists escalators at Buchanan Street, Cowcaddens, Hillhead, Kelvinbridge, Partick, Shields Road and St George’s Cross, in addition to Govan and St Enoch. At several of these, including Cowcaddens, Hillhead, Kelvinbridge, Shields Road and St George’s Cross, the route to the platform still involves stairs between concourse levels, as the descriptions show flights of stairs at more than one level. A folded pushchair carried in the arms is the assumption behind the guidance.

    Stations with stairs only

    The accessibility page describes stairs, and no escalator or lift, at Bridge Street, Cessnock, Ibrox, Kelvinhall, Kinning Park and West Street. Two flights of stairs are listed between the concourse and platform at these stations. At Cessnock the page adds that there are steps to access the station from the street. Journeys that start or finish at one of these stations mean carrying the folded pushchair, and a baby carrier or sling frees both hands.

    Help on the day

    SPT’s page says the Thistle Assistance Card is available to help make public transport easier for older people and those with disabilities or illness. The accessibility page says the card is free and available to anyone who needs it, with no eligibility criteria, and that it can be requested via the Thistle Assistance website or by phone. The Subway page also directs customers to SPT’s station access guides for detail about each station.

    Practical planning

    • Choose a boarding and alighting station with a lift or escalator where possible, using the SPT station descriptions.
    • Fold the pushchair on the platform before the train arrives so that the doors are not blocked.
    • Expect that staff may ask for a fold when it is busy, as the guidance says.
    • For a longer journey with a bulky travel system, consider a bus or a different route rather than the Subway, in line with SPT’s statement that large prams cannot be accommodated.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can I take an unfolded pushchair on the Subway? SPT says prams and pushchairs should be folded and that large ones cannot be accommodated, so an unfolded pushchair may be refused or the customer asked to fold it.

    Which stations have lifts? SPT’s accessibility page names Govan and St Enoch.

    Is there a weight limit? SPT’s guidance does not state one.

    The bottom line

    On the Glasgow Subway, prams and pushchairs should be folded, large models cannot be accommodated and staff may ask for a fold when it is busy. Only Govan and St Enoch have lifts, several stations have escalators, and six have stairs only, so a compact fold and a plan for stairs make the journey manageable.

    Sources

  • Jogging Pushchairs and Sport Buggies: What BS EN 1888-3:2024 Adds to the Pushchair Standard (Great Britain)

    A jogging pushchair looks like a three-wheeled everyday buggy with bigger wheels, but the safety standard behind it is different. BS EN 1888-3:2024 is the part of the series written specifically for pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities. This guide covers what the standard says, as summarised by a technical testing body, and what it means for a buyer in Great Britain. Standards are voluntary, and this is general information rather than advice.

    Where the standard sits in the series

    BSI Knowledge lists BS EN 1888-3:2024, "Child care articles. Wheeled child conveyances – Pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities", as a current standard published on 31 July 2024, identical to the European standard EN 1888-3. SGS, the inspection and testing company, explains in its technical bulletin that in 2014 the European standards committee CEN/TC 252 decided to split EN 1888, which covers wheeled child conveyances, into several parts so that safety concerns for different products could be addressed separately. Part 3 is the third part.

    Part 3 does not stand alone. SGS states that it applies only in conjunction with EN 1888-1+A1:2022 and, if the product is suitable for children up to 22kg, EN 1888-2+A1:2022, adding requirements on top. The site’s guide to reading a pram’s labels explains the base standard and the fire-safety label.

    What counts as a sport pushchair

    According to SGS, the scope covers wheeled child conveyances used while running, jogging or skating. Ice skating is explicitly ruled out because of the number of hazards involved. Pushchairs where the carer is transported while pushing, such as a combination of a longboard and a pushchair, are excluded.

    The main requirements

    SGS lists the main concerns addressed by the standard:

    • Suitability for use: the vehicle must ensure a safe ride on uneven surfaces and give the child a safe position, and a restraint system must limit the displacement of the child in an impact.
    • Stability: the stability requirements of the base standard have been improved to take account of steep and uneven terrain.
    • Structural strength: the number of cycles and speed of the irregular surface test in the earlier parts has been increased to reflect longer, faster and more intensive use, and requirements for the strength of wheels have been developed.
    • Braking and control: a braking device is required to address higher speed incidents, with tests of its efficiency, and the pushchair must have a means to stop it if the carer loses control. SGS says a tether is a suitable solution.
    • Visibility: reflectors or retroreflective materials must be provided on all four sides.

    Information the product must carry

    SGS reports that the standard sets enhanced product information requirements. Use for sporting activities is stated to be suitable only for children of at least 9 months of age, and a warning reminds users that extra care should be taken when sharing sport activities with a young child. The information must also include statements that the child should wear suitable protective equipment, which is a helmet, and that the carer should wear reflective clothing. Where a tether is supplied, a warning must remind the user that it must always be used. A pictogram may be used on the product, provided the same pictogram is also used and explained in the instruction manual.

    What it means for buyers in Great Britain

    Trading Standards guidance published by Pembrokeshire County Council for England, Scotland and Wales states that all prams and pushchairs, new and used, are required to be safe and that one way to ensure this is compliance with BS EN 1888. Supplying an unsafe product contravenes the General Product Safety Regulations 2005, the guidance adds. It also says to look for a label stating compliance with BS EN 1888, usually on the frame or seat covering. Northern Ireland is subject to a different general product safety regime, so this guide does not cover it.

    The practical implication is that a pushchair described as suitable for running or jogging is making a claim that goes beyond a standard everyday buggy. Because the standard is recent, older stock may have been tested to earlier versions only. SGS states that the standard was published by CEN in July 2024, that national bodies had six months to publish it and that conflicting national standards had to be withdrawn by January 2025 at the latest, so the standard should now appear in current product documentation. A listing should be checked for the specific standard reference rather than the word "jogger" alone.

    Checks before buying

    • Look for a reference to BS EN 1888-3 alongside BS EN 1888-1, and BS EN 1888-2 if the child is heavier than 15kg.
    • Check that the instruction manual describes the braking device and the tether or other means of stopping the pushchair if the carer loses control, which the standard requires.
    • Confirm that reflectors are fitted on all four sides.
    • Follow the manufacturer’s stated minimum age for sport use, which the standard’s product information rules link to at least 9 months.

    Frequently asked questions

    Is a jogging pushchair required to meet BS EN 1888-3? The standard is voluntary. Trading Standards guidance describes compliance with BS EN 1888 as one way to show a pram or pushchair is safe, and the legal duty is the general one to supply safe products.

    Does it cover skating with a pushchair? SGS says the scope includes running, jogging and skating, but ice skating is explicitly excluded.

    Can a standard buggy be used for running? A pushchair not designed for sport use has not been assessed against these requirements, so the manufacturer’s stated use should be followed.

    The bottom line

    BS EN 1888-3:2024 adds requirements for braking, a tether or equivalent means of stopping a runaway pushchair, stronger wheels, stability on rough ground, reflectors on four sides and specific product information. It applies on top of BS EN 1888-1 and, for heavier children, BS EN 1888-2. Buyers in Great Britain should look for the standard reference in the listing and follow the manufacturer’s sport-use instructions.

    Sources

  • Taking a Pushchair on the Tram: Manchester Metrolink and Edinburgh Trams Compared (England and Scotland)

    Trams are usually easier for a pushchair than a bus or an older train, with level boarding and open interiors, but space on board is limited and each operator sets its own rules. This guide compares two networks, Manchester Metrolink in England and Edinburgh Trams in Scotland, using the operators’ published pages. Other tram systems have their own conditions, and a pushchair policy on one network should not be assumed to apply on another.

    Manchester Metrolink (England)

    Transport for Greater Manchester’s page on travelling with a pushchair on Metrolink states that all tram stops have a ramp, lift or escalator and step-free access for people with pushchairs. It also says that every tram has a space reserved for pushchairs. The advice is to keep the pushchair away from the doors so that people can get on and off easily, and a passenger who needs more time to get off can use the passenger help-point next to the wheelchair bays to tell the driver.

    The Metrolink conditions of carriage add two points about equipment generally. They state that the safety and security of any luggage, pushchair or mobility scooter is the responsibility of the passenger to whom it belongs, and that the operator, KAM, will not accept liability for loss or damage unless it is caused by the negligence of people acting on its behalf. They also require passengers to ensure that any luggage, pushchair or mobility scooter does not obstruct any door, compartment or passageway, or cause inconvenience to other passengers. A pushchair left across a doorway is therefore a breach of the published conditions as well as a practical problem.

    Edinburgh Trams (Scotland)

    Edinburgh Trams’ conditions of carriage are more detailed. They say that space on the trams is limited and recommend that anyone travelling with a small child uses a smaller, easily foldable buggy. Buggies, including pushchairs and travel systems, that will not obstruct the aisle or doorways may be brought onto the tram unfolded. The operator’s frequently asked questions page confirms that a passenger boarding with an unfolded buggy should position it in the buggy space whenever that space is available.

    Who has priority: the wheelchair space

    The main difference in Edinburgh is the explicit priority rule. The conditions state that when the wheelchair space is needed by a wheelchair or mobility scooter user, passengers with unfolded buggies must move to make it available, in common with all other passengers. A passenger occupying the wheelchair space with an unfolded buggy should fold it and place it in the luggage rack so that the wheelchair or scooter user can board. As an alternative the passenger may choose to get off the tram, in which case a receipt is issued so that the journey can be completed on a following tram free of charge.

    The same general point is made elsewhere in the conditions: if no wheelchair or mobility scooter user is occupying or needs the wheelchair space, other passengers including those with a buggy or bulky luggage may use it, but they must vacate it if a company official asks. This mirrors the principle explained for buses in the site’s guide to Paulley v FirstGroup, although that case concerned a bus and the tram rules are set by each operator’s own conditions.

    Empty buggies and the Warrant

    Edinburgh Trams’ conditions state that empty buggies must be folded and placed in the luggage rack. They also describe a Warrant available to people who cannot fold their buggy because they are disabled or because the child in the buggy is disabled. A Warrant holder who shows it to a company official will not be asked to fold the buggy. The conditions add that the Warrant does not provide any priority over other passengers when boarding.

    How the two policies differ

    • Reserved space: Metrolink states that every tram has a space reserved for pushchairs; Edinburgh refers to a buggy space and positions an unfolded buggy there when it is available.
    • Priority: Edinburgh sets out the wheelchair-space priority rule and the fold-or-leave options in detail; the Metrolink pushchair page focuses on positioning and non-obstruction.
    • Empty buggies: Edinburgh requires empty buggies to be folded and racked; the Metrolink pushchair page does not address the point.
    • Liability: Metrolink’s conditions say the passenger is responsible for the safety and security of a pushchair, subject to the negligence exception.

    Practical tips

    A lightweight fold makes both networks easier, in line with Edinburgh’s own recommendation, and the site’s guide to pushchair weight and portability explains what to look for. Parents with a travel system should check that the chassis and seat will not extend into the aisle. Checking the operator’s current conditions before travelling is sensible, since operators can amend them.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I have to fold my pushchair on Metrolink? The TfGM pushchair page does not state a folding requirement. It asks passengers to keep the pushchair away from the doors and notes the reserved space on each tram.

    What if a wheelchair user needs the space in Edinburgh? The conditions require the buggy to be moved, folded into the luggage rack, or the passenger may alight and complete the journey free on a following tram.

    The bottom line

    On Manchester Metrolink every tram has a reserved pushchair space and the rule is to keep doors clear. On Edinburgh Trams unfolded buggies are accepted where they do not obstruct, but they must give way to wheelchair and mobility scooter users, and empty buggies must be folded. Reading each operator’s current conditions before travel is the safest way to avoid being asked to move.

    Sources

  • Retailer Refuses to Refund a Faulty Pram? How a Court Money Claim Works in England and Wales

    Most pram disputes end with a repair, replacement or refund after a firm letter. When a retailer still refuses, the next step for a buyer in England or Wales is a county court money claim, the process that was often called the small claims court. This guide follows GOV.UK’s official guide to making a court claim for money. Scotland and Northern Ireland use different processes, which GOV.UK points to separately, so this guide does not apply there. It is general information, not legal advice.

    When a court claim comes into the picture

    A court claim is a last step rather than a first one. The site’s guide to faulty pushchair rights explains the remedies available, and the guides to Section 75 and chargeback describe routes that can recover money from a card issuer without going to court. GOV.UK describes a court claim as a way to apply to a county court to claim money owed by a person or business, and adds that a mediation service could be quicker and cheaper than going to court.

    Making the claim

    GOV.UK states that a claim can be made online or by post. The online route is not available in certain situations, including where the amount claimed is not known, where the claim is against three or more people or organisations, where a party does not have an address in England or Wales, or where the claim is against a government department. In those cases the paper form N1 is used. The online service asks for the name, address and email address of the person or business being claimed against, and either a debit or credit card to pay the court fee or a help with fees reference number.

    What it costs

    The GOV.UK page on court fees says the fee is based on the amount claimed, plus any interest. The bands shown on that page are:

    • up to £300: £35;
    • £300.01 to £500: £50;
    • £500.01 to £1,000: £70;
    • £1,000.01 to £1,500: £80;
    • £1,500.01 to £3,000: £115;
    • £3,000.01 to £5,000: £205;
    • £5,000.01 to £10,000: £455.

    Fees are set by the government and can change, so the GOV.UK page should be checked at the time of claiming. The same page notes that further fees may arise later, for example if there is a hearing or a judgment needs enforcing, and that the fee may be recoverable if the claimant wins. People on a low income or certain benefits may be able to get help with fees, which must be applied for before making the claim online.

    What the retailer must do

    After a claim is made, GOV.UK says the details, including the claimant’s name and address, are sent to the defendant, who must respond. The claimant receives a letter or email giving the date by which the response is due. If the defendant does not respond or refuses to pay, the claimant can ask the court to order payment by requesting a judgment, using the online service or the request-for-judgment forms N225 (fixed amount) or N227 (unspecified amount) for paper claims.

    Mediation for claims up to £10,000

    GOV.UK explains that when a claim is for £10,000 or less and the defendant disputes it, the claimant will be told they must attend mediation. The court organises it and the service is free. A mediator from HM Courts and Tribunals Service speaks to each side separately by telephone to explore options, and the appointment lasts up to one hour. A verbal agreement reached at the appointment is legally binding, according to GOV.UK.

    Attendance is not optional. GOV.UK says that if a party does not attend, they will usually need to go to a court hearing instead, and that where mediation was compulsory the judge can impose sanctions for failing to attend or make an effort to reach agreement, including striking out the case or an order to pay all court costs even if the party wins.

    What happens at a hearing

    If the case proceeds, GOV.UK says the court may send a questionnaire to be completed and returned, with an extra court fee. At a hearing, a party can represent themselves, pay for a barrister or solicitor, ask someone to advise them in court, or ask someone to speak on their behalf, which may need the court’s permission. For claims under £10,000, GOV.UK says the hearing can be in the judge’s room or a courtroom in a county court. The decision is given on the day and copied by post. A person who thinks the judge made a mistake can appeal within 21 days of receiving the decision.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I have to go to court to get my money back for a faulty pram? No. GOV.UK presents court as one route, with mediation described as usually quicker and cheaper, and chargeback or Section 75 claims sometimes available first.

    Can I claim through the court if I live in Scotland? GOV.UK says there is a different process in Scotland and in Northern Ireland, so this guide’s steps do not apply there.

    What if the retailer is overseas? The online service is unavailable where a party does not have an address in England or Wales, so a paper claim or other advice would be needed.

    The bottom line

    A county court money claim is a structured last resort for a faulty pram in England or Wales. The fee rises with the claim size, from £35 up to £300 to £455 for claims of £5,000.01 to £10,000, mediation is compulsory for disputed claims of £10,000 or less, and the fee can be recoverable if the claim succeeds.

    Sources

  • Selling an Old Pram Online: What HMRC Says About Tax and Marketplace Reporting (UK)

    A pram or pushchair outgrown after a couple of years often has real resale value, and marketplace apps make selling it easy. Sellers sometimes worry that listing items online will trigger a tax bill or a report to HMRC. This guide sets out what HMRC’s published guidance says for sellers anywhere in the UK, and where the line between a one-off clear-out and trading is drawn. It is general information, not tax advice.

    A used pram is a personal possession

    HMRC’s guidance on checking whether income from online platforms must be declared defines personal possessions as items that belong to you for your own use, which you may have bought or received as a gift. Its examples include clothing, ornaments, kitchen equipment, a table and chairs, jewellery, computers and phones. A pram or pushchair bought for a family’s own use fits within that description. The guidance states that anyone selling personal possessions probably does not have to pay Income Tax on the sale.

    HMRC’s own example is a person clearing out an attic and selling unwanted items online. It says that where none of the items is worth more than £6,000, it is unlikely the seller needs to tell HMRC about the income or pay any tax, no matter how many items are sold. A single second-hand pram will almost always sit far below that figure.

    The £6,000 point is about Capital Gains Tax

    The guidance explains that if an item is sold for more than £6,000, Capital Gains Tax may be payable. The same £6,000 value applies to the total value of items forming a set, such as matching ornaments. For a pram, this is largely theoretical, but the rule illustrates that the tax test for possessions is about the value of the item rather than the number of sales.

    When selling becomes trading

    The distinction HMRC draws is one of intention. Its guidance says a seller is probably trading if they sell goods they bought intending to sell at a profit, or goods they made. Its example of "reselling clothes and other items" describes someone who, after selling unwanted clothes, starts buying items from car boot sales and charity shops to sell for more than they paid, regularly.

    Applied to prams, a parent selling their own outgrown pushchair is selling a possession. A person who regularly buys used prams cheaply, cleans them and relists them for a profit is doing something HMRC describes as probably trading. The guidance states that trading income from selling goods, services and creating online content is added together, and that if the total is more than the £1,000 trading allowance for the tax year (6 April to 5 April), it needs to be reported to HMRC.

    Do marketplaces report sellers to HMRC?

    Separately, HMRC’s page on selling goods or services on a digital platform explains that rules started in the UK on 1 January 2024 under which platform operators may need to collect specific details from sellers and report them to HMRC. Operators report income for a calendar year by the following 31 January. HMRC states that a seller’s details will not be reported if they make fewer than 30 sales of goods in a calendar year and receive less than 2,000 euros (about £1,700) for those sales. That means an occasional pram sale would not be reported under these rules, according to that page.

    The same page adds that where a platform does report, it does not automatically mean tax is owed, and that platforms must give the seller a copy of what they reported. The guidance repeats that a person is unlikely to pay tax if they sell personal items from their home, such as the contents of a loft or garage.

    What sellers do have to provide

    A person who registers on a platform to sell goods may be asked for their full name, address, date of birth and National Insurance number, or the equivalent tax identification number for a seller outside the UK. This is a platform requirement under the reporting rules rather than a statement that tax is due.

    Practical steps before listing

    • Keep the original receipt and the date of purchase. They show that the pram was bought for family use, and they help if a buyer asks about its age.
    • Check for recalls before listing. The site’s guide to pram and pushchair recalls explains how.
    • Describe the condition accurately. The buyer’s side of the same transaction is explained in the guide to private sales and traders.
    • Keep a simple record of sales if selling regularly or if anything was bought specifically to resell.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I need to tell HMRC if I sell a pram for less than I paid? HMRC’s guidance is that selling personal possessions probably does not attract Income Tax, and its example suggests that selling ordinary household items, none worth more than £6,000, is unlikely to require reporting.

    What if I sell several prams in a year? If they were all bought for the family’s own use, they remain personal possessions. If they were bought to resell at a profit, HMRC’s trading tests apply and the £1,000 trading allowance is the relevant reference point.

    Will Vinted or eBay report me? HMRC’s platform page says details are not reported below 30 sales and 2,000 euros in a calendar year. The reporting rules apply to digital platforms generally, so the guidance rather than any single platform’s policy is the reference.

    The bottom line

    Selling an outgrown pram is normally selling a personal possession, which HMRC says probably does not attract Income Tax. Tax questions arise mainly for people who buy prams to sell at a profit, where the £1,000 trading allowance applies, or for items valued above £6,000. Marketplaces report sellers only from 30 sales or 2,000 euros in a calendar year.

    Sources

  • Taking a Pushchair on a National Express Coach: The 20kg Hold Rule (UK)

    Long-distance coach travel with a young child is a cheaper alternative to rail or air for many UK families, but National Express applies a narrower pushchair policy than most train operators or short-haul airlines. Understanding the weight limit and the folding requirement before booking avoids arriving at the coach station with equipment that cannot travel.

    The core rule: folding, and under 20kg

    National Express’s Conditions of Carriage set out the requirement precisely: "Folding wheelchairs, dismantled mobility scooters and folding pushchairs/buggies will be carried free of charge in the hold where these comply with Condition 7.2 or, in the case of buggies/pushchairs, they do not exceed 20kg in weight." This means a folding pushchair under 20kg travels free, but it travels in the coach’s luggage hold, not in the cabin with the passenger, unlike the gate-checking arrangement common on short-haul flights.

    Non-folding pushchairs are not carried at all

    National Express’s conditions go further than simply preferring a folding pushchair: they list "non-folding pushchairs/prams" among the items the operator states it is "not obliged to carry." This is a stricter position than National Rail’s approach, where a non-folding pushchair may still travel but is discouraged, and stricter than most airlines’ approach to larger pushchairs, which are typically still accepted but directed to a different check-in process. On a National Express coach, a pushchair that genuinely cannot fold should not be assumed to travel at all.

    Why the hold, not the cabin

    Coach cabins have limited aisle and luggage space compared with trains, and National Express’s hold-only policy for pushchairs reflects that a folded pushchair, even a compact one, takes up space that the coach’s onboard layout is not designed to accommodate alongside standard cabin luggage. This also means a pushchair cannot be accessed mid-journey the way it might be on a train, so parents travelling with an infant should plan for how the child will be carried or seated for the duration of the journey without the pushchair being available until arrival.

    How this compares with other mobility aids on the same coach

    The same clause of National Express’s conditions groups pushchairs alongside folding wheelchairs and dismantled mobility scooters, all travelling free in the hold subject to size or weight limits. This reflects a general principle in the conditions: mobility and childcare equipment is accommodated, but only in a form that fits the coach’s hold space and does not compromise the loading and unloading process at each stop along a route, since many National Express services make several stops rather than running non-stop between two cities.

    Checking weight before you travel

    Because the 20kg limit applies specifically to the pushchair itself, a parent travelling with a heavier all-terrain or double pushchair should weigh it in advance rather than estimating, since exceeding the limit means the item may not be accepted at the coach station regardless of how much other luggage allowance remains unused. Lightweight, compact-fold pushchairs designed for travel are considerably less likely to run into this limit than larger three-wheeler or travel-system frames.

    Booking assistance in advance

    Because National Express services often call at several stops along a route, and because a pushchair travels in the hold rather than with the passenger, families travelling with young children may find it useful to contact National Express or check the accessibility information for a specific service before booking, particularly for longer journeys with a connection. This is separate from the pushchair weight and folding rule itself, but it affects how smoothly a journey involving a pushchair, a young child and possibly other luggage is likely to go in practice.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can I keep the pushchair with me at my seat? No; National Express’s conditions place folding pushchairs under 20kg in the hold, not the cabin, so it will not be accessible during the journey.

    What happens if my pushchair is over 20kg? The Conditions of Carriage do not describe a paid option for an overweight pushchair in the way some airlines offer excess baggage fees; a pushchair over the stated weight falls outside the free allowance described.

    Are car seats covered by the same rule? The 20kg figure in National Express’s conditions is specific to buggies and pushchairs; a car seat is a separate item and should be checked against the same conditions document before travelling.

    The bottom line

    National Express carries a folding pushchair under 20kg free of charge, but only in the coach’s hold, and its own conditions state that non-folding pushchairs are not something the operator is obliged to carry at all. Checking a pushchair’s fold mechanism and weight against these two limits before booking is the way to avoid being turned away at the coach station.

    Sources

  • Buying a Second-Hand Pram: Private Sale vs Trader, and Why Your Rights Are Different (UK)

    A second-hand pram from a nearly-new sale, a local Facebook group or a car boot sale can be excellent value, but the legal protection that comes with it depends entirely on who is selling it, not on the condition of the pram itself. Understanding the difference between a private sale and a trade sale before handing over money is the main way to know what recourse actually exists if something turns out to be wrong.

    What the law requires when a business sells to you

    When a pram is sold by a business, whether a shop, a registered online trader or a second-hand baby equipment specialist, the sale is covered by the Consumer Rights Act 2015. Citizens Advice summarises the standard clearly: goods bought from a trader must be of "satisfactory quality," must be "fit for purpose," and must match the seller’s description. This applies whether the item is new or second-hand, and Citizens Advice is explicit that "it doesn’t matter if you bought the item new or secondhand – you’ll still have rights." If a pram is broken, unusable, or is not what was advertised, the buyer has grounds to ask the trader for a remedy.

    What changes when the seller is a private individual

    A private sale, such as one arranged through a local selling group or a face-to-face transaction with someone clearing out their own pram, is not covered by the Consumer Rights Act’s trader obligations in the same way. The main legal protection that remains is that the goods must match how they were described by the seller: if a private seller says a pram’s brakes work and they do not, that is a misrepresentation the buyer can pursue. But beyond an accurate description, the buyer has substantially weaker protection, and the old principle of caveat emptor — buyer beware — applies far more heavily to a private sale than to a shop purchase.

    What "satisfactory quality" does and does not cover, even from a trader

    Even where the Consumer Rights Act applies, Citizens Advice notes that protection has limits: it does not cover damage caused by "wear and tear, an accident or misuse," and it does not apply if the buyer "knew about the fault before you bought the item." A second-hand pram sold by a trader with a disclosed, visible fault, at a price that reflects it, is different in law from one sold as being in good condition that turns out to have a hidden problem such as a cracked frame or a harness that does not lock.

    Checking the pram itself before you rely on either route

    Whichever type of seller is involved, Trading Standards guidance recommends checking specific safety points on any second-hand pram before buying: sharp edges or points on the frame, whether the safety harness is a secure five-point harness with straps that are not frayed, whether the parking brake engages properly in both directions, and the pram’s general stability in all directions. These checks matter more, not less, in a private sale, since the buyer cannot fall back on the trader protections described above if a problem only becomes apparent after money has changed hands.

    What to do if something goes wrong

    For a trader sale, Citizens Advice’s guidance points toward asking the seller directly for a refund or replacement in the first instance, with Trading Standards or a Section 75 card claim (for purchases over £100 on a credit card) available if the trader will not cooperate. For a private sale, the realistic options are narrower: raising the issue directly with the seller on the basis of misrepresentation, or, for a higher-value item, considering the small claims process, though the burden of proving what was actually said or advertised sits with the buyer.

    Frequently asked questions

    How do I know if a seller counts as a "trader"? A trader is generally someone selling as a business, including a registered online seller operating regularly rather than clearing out personal items; a one-off sale by an individual is normally treated as private.

    Does paying by card give me extra protection either way? Card protections such as Section 75 or chargeback relate to how you paid, not who you bought from, so they can still apply to some private sales made by card or linked payment service, subject to the payment provider’s own rules.

    Should I still buy second-hand prams privately? Many parents do so safely, but knowing that the legal safety net is thinner than with a shop purchase makes a careful in-person inspection before paying considerably more important.

    The bottom line

    A second-hand pram bought from a trader carries Consumer Rights Act protection on quality, fitness for purpose and description; one bought privately is protected mainly by the requirement that it matches how it was described. Checking the pram’s frame, harness, brakes and stability yourself before paying is the one safeguard that applies regardless of who is selling it.

    Sources

  • Taking a Pushchair on National Rail: Folding, Storage and the Rules That Apply (Great Britain)

    Travelling by train with a pushchair across Great Britain’s rail network is governed by a single rulebook that applies to every train operating company: the National Rail Conditions of Travel. Unlike buses or trams, where each operator sets its own scooter and buggy policy, the core rule for pushchairs on National Rail services is set once, nationally, and individual operators add their own practical advice on top of it.

    The core rule: pushchairs must be capable of folding

    Clause 23.4 of the National Rail Conditions of Travel, in its 2024 edition, lists "Pushchairs/Carrycots" alongside wheelchairs and powered wheelchairs, and sets out the condition for pushchairs plainly: "Must be capable of folding." This is a lower bar than the fixed dimension limits used for mobility scooters, which the same clause caps at 70cm in width and 120cm in length, but it is still a firm requirement rather than a suggestion — a pushchair that cannot fold at all does not meet the published condition for carriage.

    Where a folded pushchair should be stored

    Individual train operators translate this national rule into practical guidance for their own services. East Midlands Railway asks passengers to fold pushchairs and prams and store them safely in the luggage compartments on board, and recommends bringing a pushchair that is easy to fold and doing so before boarding. LNER’s guidance is similar: pushchairs, prams and buggies are welcome as long as they are "folded at all times" and stored the same way as any other item of luggage, whether that is a luggage rack, a dedicated luggage area, or the gap between seats where the pushchair does not block an aisle or doorway.

    Wheelchair spaces take priority

    Where a train has a designated wheelchair space, National Rail operators are consistent that this space belongs to wheelchair users first. A folded pushchair may sometimes be stored in an unused wheelchair space if no wheelchair user needs it for that journey, but the National Rail Conditions of Travel are clear that wheelchair users have priority by law, and a pushchair user occupying that space must move to free it up if a wheelchair user boards and needs it.

    Why some operators word this slightly differently

    Because each operator publishes its own passenger-facing guidance on top of the shared National Rail Conditions of Travel, the exact wording varies: Southeastern tells passengers that prams and buggies "must be capable of folding" and points them to the national conditions for further detail, while Northern’s guidance frames the same requirement as an ask — "if you can, please fold them down before boarding" — rather than a strict condition. In practice, all operators are working from the same clause 23.4 requirement, so a pushchair that genuinely cannot fold should not be relied upon for unassisted National Rail travel, regardless of which operator’s website is consulted.

    What is not covered by this rule

    Clause 23.4’s folding requirement applies specifically to pushchairs and carrycots. Mobility scooters and e-scooters sit under separate clauses of the same conditions, with mobility scooters permitted only at the discretion of individual train companies, and e-scooters treated as a distinct, more restricted category. A parent travelling with both a pushchair and, for example, an older relative’s mobility scooter should check both parts of the conditions separately, since they are not governed by the same rule.

    Why the rule is set nationally rather than by each operator

    Unlike buses and trams, which are typically run by a single local authority-backed or private operator with its own conditions of carriage, National Rail services in Great Britain are delivered by multiple train operating companies running on a shared national network. Setting the core pushchair rule once, in the National Rail Conditions of Travel, avoids a situation where a family’s pushchair is accepted on the outbound leg of a journey by one operator and rejected on a connecting service run by a different one. Individual operators are still free to add clearer, friendlier wording for their own passengers, which is why East Midlands Railway, LNER, Northern and Southeastern each phrase the same underlying rule slightly differently on their own websites.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I have to fold the pushchair before I board, or can I do it on the platform? Individual operators’ guidance, such as East Midlands Railway’s, recommends folding before boarding to avoid delaying other passengers, though the national condition itself focuses on the pushchair being capable of folding rather than specifying the exact moment.

    Can I keep my baby in the pushchair while it is folded? The guidance from operators such as LNER treats a folded pushchair as luggage, which implies the child should be out of the pushchair while it is folded and stored.

    What if the train has nowhere obvious to store a folded pushchair? National Rail’s conditions list luggage racks, luggage areas and the gaps between seats as acceptable locations, provided aisles and doorways are not blocked.

    The bottom line

    Across Great Britain’s rail network, the National Rail Conditions of Travel set one consistent rule for pushchairs: they must be capable of folding, and individual operators add their own advice on exactly where to store them once folded. Wheelchair users retain priority over any shared space, so a pushchair user should always be ready to move if that space is needed.

    Sources

  • Flying With a Pushchair: Gate-Checking, Hold Luggage and Airline Rules

    Flying with a young child almost always means flying with a pushchair, and the good news is that UK short-haul airlines generally treat it as an essential item rather than ordinary luggage. The detail that trips parents up is not whether a pushchair is allowed, but how gate-checking actually works, and what happens to the pushchair between the departure gate and the arrival hall.

    What "gate-checking" actually means

    Gate-checking allows a pushchair to be used right up until boarding, rather than being checked in at the airport check-in desk hours before the flight. easyJet’s own help page confirms that for every infant or child, the airline will "carry two additional items for your child in the hold for free," and lists a travel cot, pushchair, car seat, collapsible or non-collapsible pram, booster seat and baby back carrier as eligible items. In practice, this means a parent can use the pushchair throughout the airport and hand it over at the aircraft steps or the door, where it is tagged and placed in the hold rather than the cabin.

    What easyJet and Ryanair each allow

    easyJet’s policy treats the pushchair as outside the normal baggage allowance entirely, at no extra cost, for infants and children travelling on the booking. Ryanair takes a different approach for the child themselves: its help centre states that infants aged up to 7 days cannot be accepted for travel at all, and that infants from 8 days to 23 months inclusive must travel on an accompanying adult’s lap, with a separate baby bag allowance of up to 5kg (45 x 35 x 20cm) permitted in addition to the standard allowance. Ryanair’s guidance also confirms that baby-changing facilities are provided on board, located at the rear of the aircraft.

    Where the free allowance stops

    The free allowance generally applies to one pushchair per child travelling on the booking, and airlines distinguish between a genuinely collapsible pushchair and other larger baby equipment. A double or non-folding pushchair may still be accepted, but airlines increasingly direct these to be checked in at the bag-drop desk rather than gate-checked, since a large, non-collapsible frame is harder to stow quickly in the hold during a short turnaround. Checking the specific policy for a booked airline before departure avoids a surprise at the gate.

    What happens to the pushchair on arrival

    A gate-checked pushchair is typically returned at the aircraft door on arrival, rather than on the main baggage carousel, which is why many parents choose gate-checking over ordinary hold check-in even when both are free: it avoids a wait at baggage reclaim with a young child who has just come off a flight. This detail is not always obvious from an airline’s website and is worth confirming with cabin crew before landing if it has not been stated at boarding.

    Protecting the pushchair in the hold

    Because a gate-checked pushchair travels loose in the hold rather than in a protective case, some damage risk exists, particularly to wheels, brakes or folding mechanisms. Airlines’ baggage policies for damaged items generally apply to gate-checked pushchairs in the same way they apply to any other hold item, so keeping a note of the pushchair’s condition before travel and reporting any damage immediately on arrival, in line with the airline’s standard complaints process, is the usual route for a claim.

    What to check before you fly, regardless of airline

    Beyond the free allowance itself, it is worth checking three things specific to the booked airline before travelling: whether the fare includes hold luggage automatically or whether the pushchair uses the only free hold allowance on the booking, whether a compact-fold pushchair might qualify to travel in the cabin as hand luggage under a higher fare tier, and whether the destination airport returns gate-checked items at the aircraft door or routes them to the main baggage carousel. None of these details are always obvious from a fare summary at the point of booking, and confirming them in advance avoids working it out for the first time at the departure gate with a tired toddler in tow.

    Frequently asked questions

    Is a car seat treated the same way as a pushchair? Under easyJet’s policy, a car seat is listed alongside a pushchair as one of the free items carried for a child, subject to the same per-child allowance.

    What is the minimum age to fly on easyJet? easyJet’s own age categories define an infant as 14 days to 2 years old, noting that "babies under 14 days old are unable to travel."

    What is the minimum age to fly on Ryanair? Ryanair’s help centre states infants aged up to 7 days cannot be accepted for travel on any Ryanair flight.

    The bottom line

    Gate-checking makes flying with a young child considerably easier, letting a pushchair be used throughout the airport before being carried free in the hold. The details that matter are the per-child allowance, whether a specific pushchair counts as genuinely collapsible, and the airline’s own age rules for infants, all of which are worth checking against the specific carrier before booking.

    Sources

  • Why UK Prams Carry No CE or UKCA Mark: The GPSR Explained (Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

    Shoppers who check other baby products, such as some toys or electrical items, for a CE or UKCA safety mark sometimes go looking for the same thing on a pram or pushchair. It is not there, and it is not supposed to be. Prams and pushchairs sit under a different legal framework in the UK, called the General Product Safety Regulations (GPSR), and that framework has recently started to diverge between Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

    Why prams do not carry CE or UKCA marks

    Guidance for importers, published by Suffolk County Council’s Trading Standards service, is explicit on this point: "Prams and pushchairs being imported into GB must NOT be marked with either the CE or the UKCA mark as there [is] no UK regulations under which these marks can be applied." CE and UKCA marks are used for product categories where a manufacturer self-certifies against specific harmonised standards under UK or EU product law; wheeled child conveyances are not one of those categories, so applying either mark to a pram would actually be incorrect, not simply optional.

    What applies instead: GPSR and BS EN 1888

    As an importer or retailer, the legal duty is to ensure the products supplied are safe, under the General Product Safety Regulations 2005 in Great Britain. The Trading Standards guidance describes this as a duty on the "Producer" to ensure prams and pushchairs have been assessed against the relevant British Standard, with supporting technical documentation such as risk assessments and test reports available on request. The current relevant standards in Great Britain are BS EN 1888-1:2018+A1:2022 for pushchairs and prams, BS EN 1888-2:2018+A1:2022 for pushchairs carrying children from 15kg up to 22kg, and BS EN 1888-3:2024 for pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities such as running or off-road use.

    Great Britain and Northern Ireland now follow different rules

    Until December 2024, Great Britain and Northern Ireland both worked from the same General Product Safety Regulations 2005. That changed on 13 December 2024, when the regulations in Northern Ireland were superseded by the EU’s Regulation on general product safety 2023/988, while Great Britain continued under the 2005 regulations. This means a pram sold in Northern Ireland is now assessed against a different, more recently updated EU framework than an equivalent product sold in England, Scotland or Wales, even though both are part of the UK.

    What the labelling on a pram should actually show

    Rather than a CE or UKCA mark, a compliant pram or pushchair should carry a label identifying the manufacturer or importer, a model identifier, and the number and year of the relevant British Standard, such as "BS EN 1888-1:2018+A1:2022." Certain warnings are also mandatory depending on the product’s design, including "Never leave the child unattended" and, for pram bodies with an internal length over 800mm, "Use a harness as soon as your child can sit unaided." These labels are the practical evidence a shopper can check for, in place of a mark that legally should not appear at all.

    What this means when buying online or from abroad

    A pram advertised as "CE certified" or carrying a CE logo should raise a question rather than reassure a UK buyer, since the guidance is clear that this mark should not be applied to prams imported into Great Britain. The presence of the correct British Standard reference and the required warning labels is a more reliable indicator that a seller has gone through a genuine compliance process, rather than simply copying marking conventions used for other, unrelated product categories.

    Why this distinction matters more than it sounds

    A CE or UKCA logo is a familiar sight on electronics, toys and many other household goods, so its absence on a pram can look like an oversight rather than a deliberate legal position. Retailers who add a CE mark to a pram listing, whether through carelessness or an attempt to look more reassuring, are technically misdescribing the product’s compliance status, since the guidance is unambiguous that no UK regulation permits it. A shopper who spots this on a listing has grounds to ask the seller directly which safety standard the product has actually been tested against.

    Frequently asked questions

    Does this mean UK prams are less regulated than EU prams? No; the standard applied (BS EN 1888) is closely related to the EU’s own child conveyance standard, but the legal marking regime is separate, which is why no CE or UKCA mark appears.

    Do second-hand prams need to meet the same standard? Local authority Trading Standards guidance treats the underlying safety standard as applying to both new and used prams sold by a trader, though a private seller’s obligations are narrower.

    Where can I check the current standard number? The exact BS EN 1888 part and revision year is shown on the pram’s own compliance label; checking this against current guidance is more reliable than relying on marketing claims.

    The bottom line

    A pram or pushchair sold lawfully in the UK should not carry a CE or UKCA mark, because no UK regulation permits either mark to be applied to this product category. What it should carry is a label referencing the correct BS EN 1888 standard and the required safety warnings, assessed under the General Product Safety Regulations — which, since December 2024, differ between Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

    Sources