Category: Uncategorized

  • Pram Complaint Deadlock? What Alternative Dispute Resolution Is and What Retailers Must Tell You (UK)

    A retailer that has refused to repair, replace or refund a faulty pram has not necessarily had the last word. Between an unanswered complaint and a court claim sits alternative dispute resolution, usually shortened to ADR, in which an independent third party helps settle the dispute. This guide summarises how Trading Standards guidance and the ADR providers describe it, and what a retailer has to say about it. It covers the whole UK, with court references noted by nation. It is general information, not legal advice.

    What ADR means

    Trading Standards’ Business Companion guidance defines ADR as any method of securing or facilitating an out-of-court resolution of a consumer contract dispute, carried out by an independent third party who acts in relation to both parties. It lists common forms as mediation, arbitration and adjudication, early neutral evaluation and ombudsman schemes. The guidance says ADR is usually free for the consumer, and that if there is a cost it will be considerably less than using the courts. It also says procedures are often confidential and less confrontational than court proceedings.

    What a retailer must tell you

    The Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Act 2024 (DMCCA) applies to almost all contracts between a business and a consumer. Business Companion says that if a business’s internal complaints process has not resolved the dispute, the business must inform the consumer if there is an ADR or other arrangement available, whether that is a legal requirement, a trade association membership or simply voluntary. It says the information should be given in a durable form such as a letter or email, when communicating the outcome of the complaint. A trader that is not willing to engage in ADR does not have to give information about it, and a trader cannot compel a consumer to use ADR. The guidance adds that where a case goes to court, a business’s lack of engagement in ADR may affect the outcome, and that a court may impose costs or sanctions.

    What changed on 6 April 2026

    Business Companion says the DMCCA replaced the Alternative Dispute Resolution for Consumer Disputes (Competent Authorities and Information) Regulations 2015 on 6 April 2026. Under the old system providers did not have to obtain approval. Now providers must be accredited by the Chartered Trading Standards Institute (CTSI) unless they are exempt. The guidance says traders can refer cases to providers approved under the earlier regulations until 5 October 2026, or until an accreditation application is granted, refused or withdrawn if the provider has applied. So a retailer may name a provider that is still in transition rather than one that is fully accredited.

    Which provider for a pram

    CTSI publishes a list of approved ADR bodies. It describes Retail ADR, a trading name of Consumer Dispute Resolution Limited, as an independent organisation and authorised ADR provider that provides consumers with redress for complaints relating to consumer rights in the retail sector, and says the service is free for consumers. A retailer that belongs to a trade body or code of conduct may instead name that body’s own scheme. Business Companion notes that for some sectors, such as estate agents and telecommunications, joining a redress scheme is required.

    How RetailADR says its process works

    RetailADR describes its own process as follows. The consumer complains to the trader first. If the trader’s response, or lack of one after eight weeks, leaves the consumer unsatisfied, the consumer can bring the complaint to RetailADR. It says that within 60 days of receiving all the information and evidence it decides who is in the right and what is owed, and that if the consumer accepts the decision it becomes legally binding. It also says the decision is not binding on the consumer unless accepted, leaving the consumer free to pursue the complaint in court. Complaints can be made online, by post or by phone. These are the provider’s own statements about its scheme, and time limits and fees vary between providers, so each should be checked.

    How ADR fits with other routes

    ADR is one step in a sequence. The site’s guides cover the rest: the rights themselves, Section 75 and chargeback where a card was used, and the court routes: a money claim in England and Wales or Simple Procedure in Scotland. Business Companion notes that court protocols require parties to consider whether ADR will let them settle, and that traders and consumers may be asked to show they considered it. It names the small claims track of the County Court in England and Wales and the simple procedure in the Sheriff Court in Scotland as the relevant court routes.

    Frequently asked questions

    Must a retailer take part in ADR? Not under the DMCCA. Business Companion says neither party is obliged by the Act to use ADR, though a trade body or regulator may require it.

    Does ADR cost anything? Business Companion says it is usually free to the consumer; CTSI describes RetailADR as free for consumers.

    Can I still go to court after ADR? RetailADR says its decision is not binding on the consumer unless they accept it.

    The bottom line

    When a pram retailer rejects a complaint, it must tell the customer about any ADR arrangement available, and that written information is a useful prompt to try a free, out-of-court route before a court claim. Since 6 April 2026 providers are being accredited by CTSI, so check the provider named and keep the retailer’s letter.

    Sources

    • Business Companion (Trading Standards), "Alternative dispute resolution: Introduction" (businesscompanion.info)
    • Business Companion (Trading Standards), "Alternative dispute resolution: The ADR process" (businesscompanion.info)
    • Chartered Trading Standards Institute, "ADR Approved Bodies" (tradingstandards.uk)
    • RetailADR, "What is Alternative Dispute Resolution?" (retailadr.org.uk)
  • Retailer Won’t Refund a Faulty Pram in Scotland? How a Simple Procedure Claim Works

    If a retailer will not repair, replace or refund a faulty pram or pushchair, the last resort is a court claim. In Scotland the route for a consumer claim of this size is called Simple Procedure and it runs in the sheriff court, not the county court used in England and Wales. This guide summarises how the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service (SCTS) and Citizens Advice Scotland describe the process, for a claim about a pram bought for personal use. It applies to Scotland only; the English and Welsh process is covered in the site’s guide to a court money claim in England and Wales. It is general information, not legal advice.

    What Simple Procedure is

    SCTS describes Simple Procedure as a court process designed to provide a speedy, inexpensive and informal way to resolve disputes. The person making the claim is the claimant, the person or company it is made against is the respondent, and the decision is made by a sheriff or summary sheriff. A solicitor is not required, although one can be used. A claim can be made for payment of a sum of money where the value is £5,000 or less. Claims worth more than £5,000 follow ordinary cause procedure, which is a different and more formal route. Citizens Advice Scotland lists compensation for faulty consumer goods among the most common types of claim, and says that if the case is legally complicated it may need a different procedure and an experienced adviser.

    Steps to take first

    SCTS says that before raising a claim it is important to have tried to settle the dispute, for example by writing to the company and trying to agree a settlement. Citizens Advice Scotland makes the same point: contact the shop first, and use the court only if negotiation fails. SCTS also mentions Alternative Dispute Resolution as another possible route. It lists questions to ask before starting:

    • Is the respondent likely to be able to pay?
    • If it is a company, has it ceased trading?
    • Is the claim being raised against the correct person or company?
    • Is there time to prepare for a hearing if the claim is defended?
    • Can the cost of enforcing a decision be afforded, since the court cannot do this for the claimant?

    The substantive question, whether the pram is legally faulty, depends on consumer law rather than court procedure. The site’s guides to faulty pushchair rights and to Section 75 and chargeback cover the routes to try before court.

    Which court

    There are 39 sheriff courts in Scotland. SCTS says that in most cases the court that hears the claim is the one for the area where the respondent lives or has a place of business, and that a special rule applies in most circumstances to consumer contracts. Its example is a shop selling goods on instalments: the consumer can raise proceedings either in the court for the area where they live or in the one for the shop’s area, but if the shop wanted to sue the consumer it could only do so in the court for the consumer’s area. Citizens Advice Scotland says a consumer claim can usually be made in the sheriff court nearest to where the claimant lives.

    Making the claim

    A claim should be submitted through Civil Online, the SCTS portal. If that is not possible, a paper Simple Procedure Claim Form (Form 3A) can be used, but SCTS says the claimant must send two copies and a short note explaining what prevents online submission, and the sheriff decides whether the claim can proceed on paper. Citizens Advice Scotland gives examples of good reasons, such as having no personal device, very poor internet access, or a disability that prevents use of online forms. SCTS advises including as much information as possible so the sheriff can fully consider the claim and the respondent has fair notice.

    Fees

    A fee is paid when the claim is submitted. On the SCTS fees page, fees payable from 1 April 2026 are £23 for a claim for a sum of money of £300 or less and £127 for all other claims. If the claim is rejected, an online fee is refunded automatically. SCTS says a claimant may be exempt from fees, for example if receiving certain state benefits, and there is a fee exemption form. Service by a sheriff officer, where needed, costs £15 plus the officer’s fee.

    What happens next

    The sheriff clerk checks the claim form. Problems that can lead to it being returned include an incomplete form, the wrong sheriff court, or a request for more than £5,000. Once registered, the claim is given a case reference number and a timetable with two dates: the last date for service and the last date for a response. The claim form must then be served on the respondent. The claimant cannot do this personally; an individual or sole trader can ask the sheriff clerk to serve it by recorded delivery, or a solicitor or sheriff officer can be instructed for a fee. If the respondent does not respond, the claimant may apply for a decision within two weeks of the last date for a response. SCTS says that since 21 May 2025 all claimants must lodge an account of expenses before a case will be decided. If the respondent disputes the claim, a hearing follows, and if they admit it they may ask for time to pay by instalments.

    Frequently asked questions

    What is the limit for a Simple Procedure claim? £5,000 or less for a claim for payment of money, according to SCTS.

    Can the claim be started by post? Only with a paper form and a note approved by the sheriff; the normal route is Civil Online.

    Can the court collect the money for me? SCTS says the court cannot enforce the decision on the claimant’s behalf if it is not complied with.

    The bottom line

    A Scottish consumer with a faulty pram worth up to £5,000 can use Simple Procedure in the sheriff court, filing through Civil Online with a fee of £23 or £127 depending on the sum claimed. Try to settle first, consider whether the retailer can pay, and remember that enforcement is the claimant’s responsibility.

    Sources

    • Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service, "Guide to Simple Procedure" (scotcourts.gov.uk)
    • Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service, "How to make a claim with Simple Procedure" (scotcourts.gov.uk)
    • Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service, "Sheriff Court Fees" (scotcourts.gov.uk)
    • Citizens Advice Scotland, "If someone owes you money or compensation" (citizensadvice.org.uk)
  • Buying a Pram on an Online Marketplace: Who Is the Seller and What OPSS Says to Check (UK)

    A pram listed on a big online marketplace looks as trustworthy as one in a high-street shop, but the seller is often a separate business, sometimes overseas. The Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS), part of the UK Government, publishes short checks for people shopping online. This guide applies that advice to prams and pushchairs, and explains where the general advice needs adjusting for these products. It covers the UK. It is general information, not legal advice.

    The marketplace is not always the seller

    An OPSS campaign message from November 2021 warned that many consumers may be unaware that online platforms are not always the seller of the products on their websites. Its advice was to check whether the buyer is dealing directly with the platform or with a third-party seller, and whether that seller is UK-based and provides contact details, including a name and address. A later OPSS guidance page, "My safety: online shopping", published on 27 November 2025 and updated on 19 February 2026, says that even the most trusted online marketplaces sometimes sell unsafe products.

    For a pram, this matters because the seller is the party a buyer will deal with over a refund or a fault. The rights and routes are explained in the site’s guides to faulty pushchairs and buying a pram from an overseas website.

    OPSS’s checks before buying

    The OPSS guidance suggests these checks:

    • Check the seller: how long they have been selling, their UK contact details and their overall rating.
    • Check the listing: look for clear instructions, safety warnings and UK contact details.
    • Read reviews for detail: look for mentions of quality or safety and detailed comments, not just star ratings.
    • Check for recalls before purchasing.

    The separate consumer product safety advice page, last updated on 29 July 2024, adds that products from outside the UK may lack proper safety compliance or labelling and that buyers should look for the manufacturer’s name and address. It also says users should obtain missing instructions from the manufacturer’s website. Review quality has its own legal angle, covered in the guide to fake and incentivised reviews.

    Where the general advice needs adjusting for prams

    The OPSS page tells shoppers to look for recognised safety markings such as UKCA and CE. Prams and pushchairs are different: they are covered by the General Product Safety Regulations rather than by rules that require a CE or UKCA mark, so a genuine pram normally carries no such mark. The explanation is in the guide to why UK prams carry no CE or UKCA mark. A buyer should therefore look for the markings that a pram does carry, such as the reference to BS EN 1888 and the fire safety label, described in reading a pram’s labels.

    Instructions, warnings and contact details

    The OPSS advice puts weight on clear instructions, safety warnings and a way to contact the business. For a pushchair, a listing without instructions or safety information, or a seller who gives no address or UK contact details, fails those checks. The 2021 OPSS message specifically told shoppers to check whether the seller is UK-based and gives a name and address.

    Check recalls and register the product

    The OPSS advice says to check the consumer product recalls list, and that registering a product means the buyer can be directly informed if there is a safety issue; registration applies to second-hand items as well. The site’s guide to pram and pushchair recalls explains how to check a particular model.

    If a pram turns out to be unsafe

    GOV.UK says to report unsafe products to the Citizens Advice consumer helpline in England and Wales, Advice Direct Scotland in Scotland, or the local district council in Northern Ireland. Reports are passed to local Trading Standards or Environmental Health teams. The details are covered in the guide to reporting an unsafe pram or pushchair.

    Frequently asked questions

    Is a pram sold on a marketplace checked by the marketplace? OPSS says even trusted marketplaces sometimes sell unsafe products, so the buyer should check the seller and listing.

    Should a pram have a UKCA or CE mark? Not normally; prams fall under the General Product Safety Regulations and the relevant markings are the BS EN 1888 reference and the fire safety label.

    Who do I contact about an unsafe pram? Citizens Advice in England and Wales, Advice Direct Scotland in Scotland, or the district council in Northern Ireland.

    The bottom line

    When buying a pram online, find out who the actual seller is, check they are UK-based with contact details, read reviews for detail and look for the markings that prams really carry, not CE or UKCA. Check recalls before buying and report anything unsafe to the right helpline.

    Sources

    • Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK, "My safety: online shopping"
    • GOV.UK, "Government issues online marketplaces product safety message"
    • GOV.UK, "Consumer product safety advice: staying safe"
    • GOV.UK, "Consumer products: reporting product safety issues"
  • Pushchairs on West Midlands Metro and Sheffield Supertram: What Each Operator’s Conditions Say (England)

    Two English tram networks publish very different levels of detail about pushchairs. West Midlands Metro sets out numbered clauses on folding, space and wheelchair priority, while Sheffield Supertram’s conditions contain a single short clause on luggage and pushchairs. This guide summarises both, for tram travel in England, and shows how to plan around them. It complements the site’s comparison of Manchester Metrolink and Edinburgh Trams. Operators update their conditions, so the current version applies on the day of travel.

    West Midlands Metro: pushchairs can stay unfolded

    West Midlands Metro’s Conditions of Carriage, in the version dated 1 August 2026 that was reviewed, contain the following pushchair provisions:

    • Clause 10.2: pushchairs can be wheeled straight on without being folded down, subject to available space.
    • Clause 10.4: unfolded pushchairs are permitted when space allows and they do not obstruct gangways or pose a safety risk, and they cannot use the wheelchair spaces if a wheelchair user needs them.
    • Clause 10.6: when a wheelchair user wants to board, a customer with a pushchair may respectfully be asked to fold it.
    • Clause 12.3: folded pushchairs will be carried subject to available space.

    The operator’s FAQ answers the question "Can I travel with a buggy or pram?" with a yes, saying that with 100% low floor accessibility there is plenty of room for buggies and prams onboard. A pram that must stay unfolded is therefore workable on this network in principle, though the space-available wording means it is not guaranteed at busy times.

    Wheelchair spaces and priority

    Clause 10.3 says two wheelchair spaces are provided, designed for a standard reference wheelchair with a maximum width of 700mm and length of 1200mm. Clause 10.8 says wheelchair users have priority over other customers using the designated bay, and that customers must vacate the bay if a wheelchair user requires it. For pushchair owners this is the practical rule: the wheelchair bay is a convenient place to park a pram, but it has to be given up on request. The legal background to wheelchair priority on buses in Great Britain is explained in the guide to Paulley v FirstGroup.

    Luggage and children

    Clause 12.2 prohibits individual luggage items, other than suitcases, over 15kg, and clause 12.6 says luggage must not obstruct any gangway or be placed on seats. A pushchair carrying heavy bags therefore needs to keep the walkway clear. Under clause 6.7, up to three children under the age of five can travel free provided they are accompanied by a responsible fare-paying customer or pass holder. The operator’s FAQ adds that passengers aged 16 and over must buy adult tickets unless they hold a valid 16-18 photocard.

    Sheffield Supertram: one short clause

    Sheffield Supertram’s conditions of carriage, published by Travel South Yorkshire, have a single clause on the subject. Condition 32 says passengers shall ensure that any luggage, pushchair or similar does not obstruct any door or passageway, or cause any inconvenience to other passengers, and that the operator, South Yorkshire Future Trams Limited, will not accept liability for loss or damage to them unless it is caused by its negligence. The page does not set out dimensions, folding requirements or wheelchair space priority, and the version reviewed carried no date.

    The result is a duty on the passenger rather than a detailed policy. A pushchair should be parked so that doors and gangways stay clear, and anything left unattended is at the owner’s risk unless negligence by the operator is proved. It is sensible to keep valuables with you and to hold the pushchair by its brake while the tram moves. The site’s guide to pushchair brakes explains how to check them.

    Choosing a pushchair for tram travel

    • On networks that allow unfolded pushchairs, a narrower frame makes it easier to keep gangways clear.
    • On a network where the rules say little, expect the driver or staff to use their judgement on obstruction.
    • Have a fold that can be done quickly, in case a wheelchair user boards and you are asked to fold.
    • Keep heavy bags in the basket, not hanging from the handles, and read the guide to overloading a pushchair.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I have to fold my pushchair on West Midlands Metro? Not routinely. Clause 10.2 says it can be wheeled on unfolded, subject to space, but you may be asked to fold it if a wheelchair user boards.

    Can I use the wheelchair space for my pram? Only if a wheelchair user does not need it. Clause 10.8 says customers must vacate the bay if a wheelchair user requires it.

    Does Sheffield Supertram have a folding rule? The published conditions only require that pushchairs do not obstruct doors or passages or inconvenience other passengers.

    The bottom line

    West Midlands Metro allows unfolded pushchairs when there is space, with wheelchair users having priority over the bay, while Sheffield Supertram’s conditions only require that pushchairs do not obstruct doors or passageways. Buy a pushchair that folds quickly, keep gangways clear and be ready to move if a wheelchair user boards.

    Sources

    • West Midlands Metro, "Conditions of Carriage" (westmidlandsmetro.com)
    • West Midlands Metro, "Frequently Asked Questions" (westmidlandsmetro.com)
    • Travel South Yorkshire, "Supertram Conditions of Carriage" (travelsouthyorkshire.com)
  • Pram Retailer Goes Bust After You Paid: Section 75, Chargeback and Registering as a Creditor (UK)

    Most people pay for a pram in advance, often weeks before it is delivered, and sometimes as a deposit on a pre-order. If the retailer stops trading in that gap, the money can be hard to recover. This guide sets out what Citizens Advice and GOV.UK say a customer can do when a company goes out of business after taking payment, and how the payment method changes the picture. The consumer-credit and card points apply across the UK. The GOV.UK creditor process described is for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and Scotland has its own system. It is general information, not legal or financial advice.

    First steps

    Citizens Advice lists these first steps for a customer who has paid a company that has stopped trading:

    • contact the company, by phone, letter or a visit, to ask about the payment;
    • check whether it has closed by searching Companies House for limited companies, or the insolvency register for sole traders and partnerships;
    • get the details of the administrator from the company’s website; and
    • register as a creditor on GOV.UK, giving details of the amount owed.

    Paying by credit card: Section 75

    Citizens Advice says a claim under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act 1974 is available for purchases over £100 paid for by credit card. It is not available if the payment was made by debit card. For a pram, that threshold is often exceeded, and the card company can be asked to refund an order that was never delivered, as explained in the site’s guide to Section 75 and chargeback for a pushchair. GOV.UK’s creditor guidance adds that a customer who gets a full refund from a card company cannot also claim through the insolvency, so the card route should be tried first.

    Debit cards and chargeback

    Citizens Advice says that a debit card payment does not qualify for a Section 75 claim, but the customer may ask the bank or card provider for a chargeback. Chargeback is a card-scheme process rather than a legal right, and Citizens Advice notes that success is not guaranteed and that a bank may decline; it suggests that asking for a manager may help.

    Buy now, pay later

    For buy now, pay later purchases made before 15 July 2026, Citizens Advice says Section 75 cannot be used, although a customer can attempt a chargeback on the credit card that funds the account. The site’s guide to buy now pay later for a pram explains what regulation from that date changes, so anyone who paid by BNPL should check which side of the date their purchase falls.

    Registering as a creditor

    GOV.UK says that where a company is in insolvency, a customer who paid for goods that were not delivered should register as a creditor by contacting the official receiver or the insolvency practitioner dealing with the case. In a bankruptcy or liquidation, GOV.UK says that a claim for more than £1,000 needs a Proof of Debt form, while for £1,000 or less the customer gives their contact details and the amount owed. The case handler may be described as the trustee, liquidator or official receiver, and the details can be found through the Individual Insolvency Register or Companies House.

    What to expect

    Both sources are frank about the outcome. GOV.UK says payments are made only if there are more than enough assets after the costs and expenses of the insolvency and secured creditors, and that if the person or company does not have many or any assets, no money will be recovered. Citizens Advice says other people, such as banks, will get paid first, so a customer might not get any money back, and that there is no automatic refund right for unopened items bought before the closure. It adds that court action is not possible against limited companies that have stopped trading.

    Protecting a future pram purchase

    • Pay by credit card for orders over £100 where possible.
    • Avoid paying the full price long before delivery where the retailer offers a deposit.
    • Keep the order confirmation, receipts and any correspondence.
    • If a delivery is late, act early, using the rights in the guide to late or undelivered prams.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can I get my money back if the pram shop closes? It depends on how you paid: a credit card claim under Section 75 is the strongest route for purchases over £100, and otherwise a chargeback or a creditor claim may be attempted without a guarantee.

    Should I still register as a creditor? Citizens Advice says to register as a creditor on GOV.UK, but GOV.UK warns that a full card refund rules out a claim through the insolvency.

    Can I sue a closed limited company? Citizens Advice says court action cannot be pursued against limited companies that have stopped trading.

    The bottom line

    If a pram retailer goes out of business after taking payment, the payment method decides the best route: Section 75 for credit card purchases over £100, a chargeback request for debit cards, and a creditor claim as a last resort that may recover nothing. Paying by credit card and avoiding large prepayments are the practical protections.

    Sources

    • Citizens Advice, "If a company stops trading or goes out of business" (citizensadvice.org.uk)
    • GOV.UK, "What to do when an insolvent company or bankrupt person owes you money"
    • GOV.UK, "Register as a creditor in a bankruptcy or liquidation"
  • Ex-Display and Clearance Prams: What the Consumer Rights Act 2015 Still Covers When It Says “Sold as Seen” (UK)

    Ex-display and clearance prams can be a real saving, particularly on premium travel systems that have been on a shop floor for a season. The label "sold as seen" on a price ticket makes many buyers think they have no rights, but UK consumer law is more nuanced. This guide explains what the Consumer Rights Act 2015 says about satisfactory quality, what a retailer can and cannot exclude, and how to protect a reduced-price purchase. The Act applies across the UK, so the core rules are the same in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland; some points on time limits below are described for England and Wales. It is general information, not legal advice.

    Ex-display goods are still covered

    The Dispute Resolution Ombudsman says that under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, ex-display goods get the same protection as new items if they are faulty or unfit for purpose. Citizens Advice makes the same point about second-hand items in its guidance on faulty goods: it does not matter whether an item was bought new or second-hand, the buyer still has rights. The Ombudsman also says that labelling something "sold as seen" does not by itself remove those protections.

    What satisfactory quality means

    Section 9 of the Act treats every contract to supply goods as including a term that the quality of the goods is satisfactory. Quality meets that standard if it is what a reasonable person would consider satisfactory, taking into account the description, "the price or other consideration for the goods (if relevant)" and all the other relevant circumstances. Section 9(3) says quality includes state and condition, fitness for purpose, appearance, freedom from minor defects, safety and durability. For a pram, safety and durability are the parts that matter most: brakes, locking fold mechanisms and harness fittings should work properly on a display model as they would on a boxed one.

    What the price changes, and what it does not

    The price is a relevant circumstance, so a deeply discounted ex-display pram can reasonably carry lower expectations of cosmetic condition. The Ombudsman’s guidance says the consumer should reasonably have lower expectations as a result of the reduced price and ex-display status. Scuffs, marks on the fabric or a missing box are the kind of thing a discount can cover if they were pointed out or are obvious. A brake that does not hold or a frame that will not lock is a different matter, because those relate to function and safety, not appearance.

    Faults pointed out before you buy

    Section 9(4) says the satisfactory quality term does not cover a matter that was specifically drawn to the consumer’s attention before the contract was made, or, where the consumer examined the goods, a matter that the examination ought to have revealed. The Ombudsman says consumers cannot claim for defects disclosed in advance but keep their rights for faults discovered afterwards. It also says retailers should accurately describe any issues with ex-display goods, including their condition and any damage, rather than relying on vague wording, and that details such as how long the item was on display are also recommended. Citizens Advice similarly lists knowing about a fault before buying as a situation where there are no legal rights over that fault.

    Warranty and guarantee questions

    The Ombudsman notes that manufacturers typically guarantee goods for the first year, while retailers often keep display models for longer. It says that means the retailer carries liability for defects that appear after the manufacturer’s cover ends. For a pram, a buyer should therefore ask whether the manufacturer’s guarantee still runs from the sale date or from an earlier date, and read the site’s guide to pushchair guarantees and extended warranties. The Ombudsman also says that consumer rights extend up to 6 years under the Limitation Act 1980 in England and Wales.

    Protect yourself at the till

    • Ask the retailer to write down every mark or damage on the receipt or a product description.
    • Take dated photos of the pram’s condition, as the Ombudsman recommends documentation and photography of the agreed condition.
    • Test the fold, brakes, harness and wheels in the shop, and read how pushchair brakes work first.
    • Check the pram still has its safety label and instructions, as explained in reading a pram’s labels.
    • Keep the receipt, since it proves the price paid and the date.

    If something goes wrong later

    A fault that was not disclosed and that makes the pram unsatisfactory gives the same remedies as any faulty goods purchase, explained in the site’s guide to faulty pushchairs: 30 days, six months and repair or replacement. If the retailer refuses, the route in England and Wales is described in how a court money claim works.

    Frequently asked questions

    Does "sold as seen" remove my rights? According to the Dispute Resolution Ombudsman, it does not remove the protections of the Consumer Rights Act 2015 by itself.

    Can I return an ex-display pram just because I changed my mind? The Ombudsman says that where a consumer simply changed their mind, the outcome depends on the shop’s returns policy; online orders have their own rules, explained in the guide to the 14-day cancellation right.

    Are scuffs covered? Not if they were pointed out or an examination should have revealed them, under section 9(4).

    The bottom line

    Ex-display and clearance prams keep their Consumer Rights Act protection: they must be of satisfactory quality, and a low price only lowers expectations about appearance and disclosed marks, not about brakes, locks and safety. Get every known defect written down and photograph the pram before paying.

    Sources

    • legislation.gov.uk, "Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9: Goods to be of satisfactory quality"
    • Dispute Resolution Ombudsman, "Sales of ex-display items" (disputeresolutionombudsman.org)
    • Citizens Advice, "Return faulty goods" (citizensadvice.org.uk)
  • Pushchairs on Translink Buses in Northern Ireland: What the Conditions of Carriage Say About Folding and Wheelchair Priority

    Bus rules for pushchairs differ by operator and by country, and Northern Ireland’s Translink has its own written conditions. They are short but specific: pushchairs may be folded at busy times, un-foldable prams are not carried, and wheelchair users have priority. This guide explains what Translink’s combined Metro, Glider and Ulsterbus Conditions of Carriage say, for bus travel in Northern Ireland, and compares them with the wording Stagecoach publishes for its buses in Great Britain. It is general information; the operator’s current conditions apply on the day.

    Which document applies

    Translink’s Conditions of Carriage for Citybus Limited (trading as Metro and Glider) and Ulsterbus Limited including Goldline services is a single document. The version reviewed carries the date "Updated 27 February 2019" and a combined August 2018 title. It covers Metro, Glider and Ulsterbus services, including Goldline. Translink’s Accessible Travel Policy, published in February 2024, points readers to those conditions for information on wheelchairs, dogs and animals, buggies and bicycles. Rail travel is dealt with in a separate Rail Conditions of Carriage document and is not covered here.

    What clause 17 says about pushchairs

    The passenger luggage clause explains that Translink restricts the size and type of luggage and other belongings that can be brought on buses, in the interests of safety and comfort. The pushchair-specific wording is:

    • Folding on request (17.2): the driver or an authorised person has discretion to request that pushchairs are folded at busy times, or if a customer wishes to board with a wheelchair.
    • Wheelchair space (17.2): passengers should cooperate in allowing proper use of the designated wheelchair space by vacating it if required by a passenger in a wheelchair.
    • Unfolded buggies: Translink states that it cannot accommodate wheelchairs or unfolded buggies on buses without these facilities.
    • Prams that do not fold: the conditions say Translink does not carry un-foldable prams on any buses.
    • Free carriage (17.3): buggies or strollers carried as passengers’ luggage are carried free of charge provided they are folded and suitable space is available.
    • Priority (17.3): priority must be afforded to wheelchair users on all occasions on all Translink services.

    The general luggage rules that also apply

    Clause 17.1 says that unless otherwise specified, personal luggage up to a maximum of 25 kilos (approximately 55 lbs.) per fare-paying passenger may be carried on Ulsterbus services, at the discretion of the company or an authorised person. Clause 17.5 says the driver or authorised person may direct where luggage should be placed, and clause 17.6 makes passengers responsible for getting themselves and their luggage on and off the vehicle, although the driver may assist. For a parent with a folded pushchair, a bag and a child, the practical result is that the fold, the load and the boarding are all the parent’s job unless the driver chooses to help.

    What this means for choosing a pushchair

    The rule that un-foldable prams are not carried matters most for a buyer who expects to use buses. A compact fold that can be managed with a child in the other arm is the safest fit, and the site’s guide to pushchair weight and portability explains how to judge that in a shop. A large travel system that cannot be folded quickly may be refused at busy times.

    Comparison with Stagecoach in Great Britain

    Stagecoach’s published guidance takes a different approach. Its page on what to do if there is no space for a pram or wheelchair says small prams and unfolded buggies can be carried on low floor buses, but only when the space is not required by a passenger in a wheelchair or an approved mobility scooter, and that passengers in wheelchairs have absolute priority by law. The Northern Ireland conditions do not use the word "small" for prams and focus on folding. The position on the legal priority of wheelchair users in Great Britain is set out in the site’s guide to Paulley v FirstGroup, and Transport for London’s rules in pushchairs on London buses and the Tube.

    Practical tips

    • Fold the pushchair before the bus arrives if it is busy, since the driver may ask.
    • Expect to move from the wheelchair space if a wheelchair user boards.
    • Keep total luggage under the 25 kilo limit on Ulsterbus services.
    • Choose a pushchair that folds without needing both hands if buses are part of the routine.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can I take an unfolded pushchair on a Translink bus? The conditions say Translink cannot accommodate wheelchairs or unfolded buggies on buses without the wheelchair facilities, and drivers can ask for pushchairs to be folded at busy times.

    Does a pushchair cost extra? No. Folded buggies and strollers carried as luggage are free of charge if space is available.

    Do wheelchair users have priority? Yes. Clause 17.3 says priority must be afforded to wheelchair users on all occasions on all Translink services.

    The bottom line

    Translink’s bus conditions for Northern Ireland ask parents to fold pushchairs at busy times, free the wheelchair space when a wheelchair user needs it and accept that un-foldable prams are not carried. A compact fold is the most reliable fit for regular bus journeys, and any operator’s own page should be checked before travelling.

    Sources

    • Translink, "Conditions of Carriage for Citybus Limited (trading as Metro and Glider) and Ulsterbus Limited including Goldline Services" (translink.co.uk)
    • Translink, "Accessible Travel Policy" (version 3.0, February 2024) (translink.co.uk)
    • Stagecoach, "What should I do if there’s no space on the bus for my pram or wheelchair?" (stagecoachbus.com)
  • Taking a Pushchair on the Glasgow Subway: Fold It First, and Which Stations Have Lifts or Escalators (Scotland)

    The Glasgow Subway is a compact underground circle, and its stations were not designed around wheeled pushchairs. Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT), which runs it, publishes specific guidance for prams and pushchairs and a station-by-station description of stairs, escalators and lifts. This guide sets out what those pages say, for travel on the Subway in Scotland. Other Scottish and UK networks have different rules.

    The rule: fold the pushchair

    SPT’s Subway page states that prams and pushchairs should be folded in the Subway. It explains that because of space restrictions, it is not possible to accommodate large prams and pushchairs, and that staff may ask customers to fold prams or pushchairs if they are too big or the system is busy. The practical consequence is that a large travel system or a heavy all-terrain model is a poor fit, and the fold should be one the parent can manage with one hand while holding a child.

    The guidance is short and does not give dimensions or a weight limit. The wording is that pushchairs "should" be folded and that staff can ask, so the decision on the day rests with Subway staff. The site’s guide to pushchair weight and portability covers what makes a pushchair easy to carry.

    How the Subway is laid out

    According to SPT, the Subway runs a circuit of fifteen stations, with trains every four minutes at peak times, and takes 24 minutes to complete a circuit. It is open from 06:30 to 23:40 Monday to Saturday and from 10:00 to 18:12 on Sundays, as shown on its page. Those operating details can change and should be checked on SPT’s timetable page before travelling.

    Which stations have lifts

    SPT’s accessibility page describes each station. Two have lifts:

    • Govan: escalators to platform level and lifts to assist those with mobility issues.
    • St Enoch: stairs and an escalator at the north end, a lift to the concourse at the south end, and lifts on the lower levels down to the platform.

    For a parent with a pushchair that will not fold small, these are the stations SPT identifies as having lifts. Every other station, according to the page, relies on stairs, escalators or both.

    Stations with escalators

    SPT lists escalators at Buchanan Street, Cowcaddens, Hillhead, Kelvinbridge, Partick, Shields Road and St George’s Cross, in addition to Govan and St Enoch. At several of these, including Cowcaddens, Hillhead, Kelvinbridge, Shields Road and St George’s Cross, the route to the platform still involves stairs between concourse levels, as the descriptions show flights of stairs at more than one level. A folded pushchair carried in the arms is the assumption behind the guidance.

    Stations with stairs only

    The accessibility page describes stairs, and no escalator or lift, at Bridge Street, Cessnock, Ibrox, Kelvinhall, Kinning Park and West Street. Two flights of stairs are listed between the concourse and platform at these stations. At Cessnock the page adds that there are steps to access the station from the street. Journeys that start or finish at one of these stations mean carrying the folded pushchair, and a baby carrier or sling frees both hands.

    Help on the day

    SPT’s page says the Thistle Assistance Card is available to help make public transport easier for older people and those with disabilities or illness. The accessibility page says the card is free and available to anyone who needs it, with no eligibility criteria, and that it can be requested via the Thistle Assistance website or by phone. The Subway page also directs customers to SPT’s station access guides for detail about each station.

    Practical planning

    • Choose a boarding and alighting station with a lift or escalator where possible, using the SPT station descriptions.
    • Fold the pushchair on the platform before the train arrives so that the doors are not blocked.
    • Expect that staff may ask for a fold when it is busy, as the guidance says.
    • For a longer journey with a bulky travel system, consider a bus or a different route rather than the Subway, in line with SPT’s statement that large prams cannot be accommodated.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can I take an unfolded pushchair on the Subway? SPT says prams and pushchairs should be folded and that large ones cannot be accommodated, so an unfolded pushchair may be refused or the customer asked to fold it.

    Which stations have lifts? SPT’s accessibility page names Govan and St Enoch.

    Is there a weight limit? SPT’s guidance does not state one.

    The bottom line

    On the Glasgow Subway, prams and pushchairs should be folded, large models cannot be accommodated and staff may ask for a fold when it is busy. Only Govan and St Enoch have lifts, several stations have escalators, and six have stairs only, so a compact fold and a plan for stairs make the journey manageable.

    Sources

    • Strathclyde Partnership for Transport, "Subway" (spt.co.uk)
    • Strathclyde Partnership for Transport, "Accessibility & mobility" (spt.co.uk)
  • Jogging Pushchairs and Sport Buggies: What BS EN 1888-3:2024 Adds to the Pushchair Standard (Great Britain)

    A jogging pushchair looks like a three-wheeled everyday buggy with bigger wheels, but the safety standard behind it is different. BS EN 1888-3:2024 is the part of the series written specifically for pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities. This guide covers what the standard says, as summarised by a technical testing body, and what it means for a buyer in Great Britain. Standards are voluntary, and this is general information rather than advice.

    Where the standard sits in the series

    BSI Knowledge lists BS EN 1888-3:2024, "Child care articles. Wheeled child conveyances – Pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities", as a current standard published on 31 July 2024, identical to the European standard EN 1888-3. SGS, the inspection and testing company, explains in its technical bulletin that in 2014 the European standards committee CEN/TC 252 decided to split EN 1888, which covers wheeled child conveyances, into several parts so that safety concerns for different products could be addressed separately. Part 3 is the third part.

    Part 3 does not stand alone. SGS states that it applies only in conjunction with EN 1888-1+A1:2022 and, if the product is suitable for children up to 22kg, EN 1888-2+A1:2022, adding requirements on top. The site’s guide to reading a pram’s labels explains the base standard and the fire-safety label.

    What counts as a sport pushchair

    According to SGS, the scope covers wheeled child conveyances used while running, jogging or skating. Ice skating is explicitly ruled out because of the number of hazards involved. Pushchairs where the carer is transported while pushing, such as a combination of a longboard and a pushchair, are excluded.

    The main requirements

    SGS lists the main concerns addressed by the standard:

    • Suitability for use: the vehicle must ensure a safe ride on uneven surfaces and give the child a safe position, and a restraint system must limit the displacement of the child in an impact.
    • Stability: the stability requirements of the base standard have been improved to take account of steep and uneven terrain.
    • Structural strength: the number of cycles and speed of the irregular surface test in the earlier parts has been increased to reflect longer, faster and more intensive use, and requirements for the strength of wheels have been developed.
    • Braking and control: a braking device is required to address higher speed incidents, with tests of its efficiency, and the pushchair must have a means to stop it if the carer loses control. SGS says a tether is a suitable solution.
    • Visibility: reflectors or retroreflective materials must be provided on all four sides.

    Information the product must carry

    SGS reports that the standard sets enhanced product information requirements. Use for sporting activities is stated to be suitable only for children of at least 9 months of age, and a warning reminds users that extra care should be taken when sharing sport activities with a young child. The information must also include statements that the child should wear suitable protective equipment, which is a helmet, and that the carer should wear reflective clothing. Where a tether is supplied, a warning must remind the user that it must always be used. A pictogram may be used on the product, provided the same pictogram is also used and explained in the instruction manual.

    What it means for buyers in Great Britain

    Trading Standards guidance published by Pembrokeshire County Council for England, Scotland and Wales states that all prams and pushchairs, new and used, are required to be safe and that one way to ensure this is compliance with BS EN 1888. Supplying an unsafe product contravenes the General Product Safety Regulations 2005, the guidance adds. It also says to look for a label stating compliance with BS EN 1888, usually on the frame or seat covering. Northern Ireland is subject to a different general product safety regime, so this guide does not cover it.

    The practical implication is that a pushchair described as suitable for running or jogging is making a claim that goes beyond a standard everyday buggy. Because the standard is recent, older stock may have been tested to earlier versions only. SGS states that the standard was published by CEN in July 2024, that national bodies had six months to publish it and that conflicting national standards had to be withdrawn by January 2025 at the latest, so the standard should now appear in current product documentation. A listing should be checked for the specific standard reference rather than the word "jogger" alone.

    Checks before buying

    • Look for a reference to BS EN 1888-3 alongside BS EN 1888-1, and BS EN 1888-2 if the child is heavier than 15kg.
    • Check that the instruction manual describes the braking device and the tether or other means of stopping the pushchair if the carer loses control, which the standard requires.
    • Confirm that reflectors are fitted on all four sides.
    • Follow the manufacturer’s stated minimum age for sport use, which the standard’s product information rules link to at least 9 months.

    Frequently asked questions

    Is a jogging pushchair required to meet BS EN 1888-3? The standard is voluntary. Trading Standards guidance describes compliance with BS EN 1888 as one way to show a pram or pushchair is safe, and the legal duty is the general one to supply safe products.

    Does it cover skating with a pushchair? SGS says the scope includes running, jogging and skating, but ice skating is explicitly excluded.

    Can a standard buggy be used for running? A pushchair not designed for sport use has not been assessed against these requirements, so the manufacturer’s stated use should be followed.

    The bottom line

    BS EN 1888-3:2024 adds requirements for braking, a tether or equivalent means of stopping a runaway pushchair, stronger wheels, stability on rough ground, reflectors on four sides and specific product information. It applies on top of BS EN 1888-1 and, for heavier children, BS EN 1888-2. Buyers in Great Britain should look for the standard reference in the listing and follow the manufacturer’s sport-use instructions.

    Sources

    • BSI Knowledge, "BS EN 1888-3:2024 Child care articles. Wheeled child conveyances – Pushchairs intended for leisure sport activities" (knowledge.bsigroup.com)
    • SGS, "CEN Publishes EN1888-3:2024 for Pushchairs Intended for Leisure Sport Activities" (13 August 2024) (sgs.com)
    • Pembrokeshire County Council Trading Standards, "New and second-hand prams and pushchairs" (pembrokeshire.gov.uk)
  • Taking a Pushchair on the Tram: Manchester Metrolink and Edinburgh Trams Compared (England and Scotland)

    Trams are usually easier for a pushchair than a bus or an older train, with level boarding and open interiors, but space on board is limited and each operator sets its own rules. This guide compares two networks, Manchester Metrolink in England and Edinburgh Trams in Scotland, using the operators’ published pages. Other tram systems have their own conditions, and a pushchair policy on one network should not be assumed to apply on another.

    Manchester Metrolink (England)

    Transport for Greater Manchester’s page on travelling with a pushchair on Metrolink states that all tram stops have a ramp, lift or escalator and step-free access for people with pushchairs. It also says that every tram has a space reserved for pushchairs. The advice is to keep the pushchair away from the doors so that people can get on and off easily, and a passenger who needs more time to get off can use the passenger help-point next to the wheelchair bays to tell the driver.

    The Metrolink conditions of carriage add two points about equipment generally. They state that the safety and security of any luggage, pushchair or mobility scooter is the responsibility of the passenger to whom it belongs, and that the operator, KAM, will not accept liability for loss or damage unless it is caused by the negligence of people acting on its behalf. They also require passengers to ensure that any luggage, pushchair or mobility scooter does not obstruct any door, compartment or passageway, or cause inconvenience to other passengers. A pushchair left across a doorway is therefore a breach of the published conditions as well as a practical problem.

    Edinburgh Trams (Scotland)

    Edinburgh Trams’ conditions of carriage are more detailed. They say that space on the trams is limited and recommend that anyone travelling with a small child uses a smaller, easily foldable buggy. Buggies, including pushchairs and travel systems, that will not obstruct the aisle or doorways may be brought onto the tram unfolded. The operator’s frequently asked questions page confirms that a passenger boarding with an unfolded buggy should position it in the buggy space whenever that space is available.

    Who has priority: the wheelchair space

    The main difference in Edinburgh is the explicit priority rule. The conditions state that when the wheelchair space is needed by a wheelchair or mobility scooter user, passengers with unfolded buggies must move to make it available, in common with all other passengers. A passenger occupying the wheelchair space with an unfolded buggy should fold it and place it in the luggage rack so that the wheelchair or scooter user can board. As an alternative the passenger may choose to get off the tram, in which case a receipt is issued so that the journey can be completed on a following tram free of charge.

    The same general point is made elsewhere in the conditions: if no wheelchair or mobility scooter user is occupying or needs the wheelchair space, other passengers including those with a buggy or bulky luggage may use it, but they must vacate it if a company official asks. This mirrors the principle explained for buses in the site’s guide to Paulley v FirstGroup, although that case concerned a bus and the tram rules are set by each operator’s own conditions.

    Empty buggies and the Warrant

    Edinburgh Trams’ conditions state that empty buggies must be folded and placed in the luggage rack. They also describe a Warrant available to people who cannot fold their buggy because they are disabled or because the child in the buggy is disabled. A Warrant holder who shows it to a company official will not be asked to fold the buggy. The conditions add that the Warrant does not provide any priority over other passengers when boarding.

    How the two policies differ

    • Reserved space: Metrolink states that every tram has a space reserved for pushchairs; Edinburgh refers to a buggy space and positions an unfolded buggy there when it is available.
    • Priority: Edinburgh sets out the wheelchair-space priority rule and the fold-or-leave options in detail; the Metrolink pushchair page focuses on positioning and non-obstruction.
    • Empty buggies: Edinburgh requires empty buggies to be folded and racked; the Metrolink pushchair page does not address the point.
    • Liability: Metrolink’s conditions say the passenger is responsible for the safety and security of a pushchair, subject to the negligence exception.

    Practical tips

    A lightweight fold makes both networks easier, in line with Edinburgh’s own recommendation, and the site’s guide to pushchair weight and portability explains what to look for. Parents with a travel system should check that the chassis and seat will not extend into the aisle. Checking the operator’s current conditions before travelling is sensible, since operators can amend them.

    Frequently asked questions

    Do I have to fold my pushchair on Metrolink? The TfGM pushchair page does not state a folding requirement. It asks passengers to keep the pushchair away from the doors and notes the reserved space on each tram.

    What if a wheelchair user needs the space in Edinburgh? The conditions require the buggy to be moved, folded into the luggage rack, or the passenger may alight and complete the journey free on a following tram.

    The bottom line

    On Manchester Metrolink every tram has a reserved pushchair space and the rule is to keep doors clear. On Edinburgh Trams unfolded buggies are accepted where they do not obstruct, but they must give way to wheelchair and mobility scooter users, and empty buggies must be folded. Reading each operator’s current conditions before travel is the safest way to avoid being asked to move.

    Sources

    • Transport for Greater Manchester, "Travelling with a bike or pushchair on Metrolink" (tfgm.com)
    • Transport for Greater Manchester, "Metrolink conditions of carriage" (tfgm.com)
    • Edinburgh Trams, "Carriage Conditions" (edinburghtrams.com)
    • Edinburgh Trams, "Can I travel with a buggy/pram?" (edinburghtrams.com)